True North strong and free

‘To live is so startling it leaves little time for anything else’ ~ Emily Dickinson.

Writing from Canuck land, far in the distance I can see the mountains, the Olympic ski jump and several flags showcasing Canadian pride in red and white. I was greeted by the twinkling lights of the city and the freshness and distinctive crispness of mountain air when I arrived. If you close your eyes and step outside you know in an instant you’re no longer on English soil. It’s good to be somewhere else, I need somewhere I can explore, get away from that feeling of stagnation and feel alive. It’s amazing what a change of scenery can do for the soul and your spirits.

Somewhere between Iceland and Greenland and thousands of feet above the icy tundras and glacier flows I watched The Lovely Bones, which was absolutely brilliant I hasten to add despite criticisms it lacked the ‘poetic spark’ of the book. I liked the idea of the in-between (a place between heaven and earth) and the ability of the sinister and suspense parts to get you on the edge of your seat.

My two favorite quotes:

You’re not supposed to look back, you’re supposed to keep going.

I was here for a moment, and then I was gone. I wish you all, a long, and happy life.

Maybe something possessed me but I also watched Couples Retreat which I cannot even say a good word about. I think I laughed most at the terribly witless humor more than anything else, the one-dimensional characters and the awfully predictable ending added the the formula.

After getting my laptop case (I had padded with books) and my hand luggage, which weighed the same as a smuggled baby elephant, out the overhead compartments I congratulated myself on not killing anyone in the process. Customs and immigration were a lot swifter than I expected, I didn’t even have to play 21 questions with border control. So with nervous anticipation I went to the arrivals area to be greeted by my boyfriend. Who had got more handsome in my absence and attempted romance by presenting me with a rose. Being deprived of someone’s company for an extended period of time definitely makes you more appreciative of them, it’s a shame that we only realise that when time or distance comes between people. Lesson learned.

Being in Canada means two things: more blog posts, more photos. So enjoy!

Now remember the apartment that had remained a mystery to me?

Well it is better than I imagined. Feast your eyes on some downtown core real estate.

Poppy field bedroom. Meet my friend Silly Puppy Hastings keeping guard.

What's on my boyfriend's bedside table? A goofy photo of us of course, just our normal behaviour.

Proof to my Mum I'm still alive and clowning around.

More clowning around in the coat closet mirror.

750 square feet of my place

Bookshelf needs more love

Adore the big windows, having tonnes of light pouring brightens up the whole place. The apartment is a bit bare right now but we're working on it.

Booknerd heaven

More book nerd-age.

This is where I'm going to become a gourmet chef....

This is classed as a 'den' and is part of the open plan lounge/kitchen/dining room. It will be miraculously transformed into an office when Ikea send me a desk.

Bedroom window view, on a clear day you can see mountains in the far far distance.

My ROOTS Find... bag makes for much inspiration.

4th floor apartment view South-West. This car park is great for people watching.

View West, we get great sunsets.

View North West

My writing post.

The makeup parlour

Clinique moisturiser - essential with the low humidity here.

The green glowing alien that lives by my side of the bed.

Quatchi, my Canada Olympics mascot. When in Canada do as a Canadian, and express that Canadian pride!

O Canada!

Pictures tell a thousand words. And this gives a bit of an idea of the place I’m calling my space for the now. O Canada indeed!

9 Comments

Filed under Calgary, Canada, Life, Musings and Aphorisms

9 responses to “True North strong and free

  1. Taryn

    ahhh welcome!!! glad you have made it safe and sound! just in time for us to get more snow!!! apparently thats the plan for tomorrow hopefully not though although we can def. use the moisture [am i really rambling about the weather..? yikes]

    your apartment is gorgeous! and so are you! have a lovely day!

    • I’m in your territory! πŸ˜€ yay and warm welcomes.

      Oh weather talk, that’s okay in Calgary. The weather seems to fluctuate so much it’s allowed as it’s a bit of a drama in itself. Not much fun walking in the sleet and rain to Reid’s to get fancy letter-writing paper. On the first day I was here I went out in a t-shirt. How’s that for schizophrenic weather!

      Thank you so much for your exceptionally kind comments dearie ❀ too sweet!

  2. Julie

    WOW! gorgeous apartment indeed!! I envy you have furniture! I’m so happy you made it safe too!

    I use to have Clinique moisturizer but it didn’t work out on my skin :-(.

    • I have to thank my boyfriend for finding a good apartment, can’t take any credit there πŸ˜€ All the furniture is dead cheap flat-packed Ikea stuff which is mayhem to assemble. My desk arrived today so I will set it up and start making some kind of wall collage of inspiration above it!

      Thanks for your lovely comments πŸ˜€

      😦 I use the dramatically different gel as I think the lotion version might wreak havoc with my skin. I only get the Clinique stuff when they have those special offers of spend over $26.50 and get a goodie bag free! Makes the sting to the purse a little less when there’s free lipgloss, eyeshadows and compact mirrors involved. πŸ˜›

  3. ikkenorskgirl

    Yaye! You’re there safe and sound!

    Such a cool flat you guys’ve got there, although I’m sure your ready to put your feminine hands to it and make it into a real home for you two πŸ™‚ (I did the same with my bf’s place that I haven’t moved into…yet!)

    Love the goofing around in the mirror photos you’ve got there – glad to see the long stint back home didn’t suck all your spirit dry!

    So, go on and enjoy those sunset views, the dabbling in the fab kitchen, the cosying on the sofa watching the big tv/sucking up all the nerdage in them books thar…but most of all…being in your beau’s arms again πŸ™‚

    • I made it across the oceans and snowy mountains woo! Thank you so much for the virtual hugs, really appreciate it, that helps the spirit :D.

      Oh don’t you worry the feminine touch is underway and there’s nothing he can do about it. Pink, sequins, powder blue, flowers it’s on! I would love to see how you girl-ify your apartment, I’m sure you’ve done a stellar job!

      Being apart from boyfriends is not fun is it? :<
      It's like being separated from your best friend. 7000 miles is not cool. We are strong girlies no question about that. But it makes the time we spend with them all the sweeter.

  4. Thank you my lovely bloggin’ ladies.

    Mucho love and hugs to all xxxxxx πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  5. I want that bag!

    Love the pictures. πŸ™‚

  6. OMG I love your new place!! Totally nice. How are you liking Canada. It’s one of my near future goals to travel there.

Leave a Reply

