Scribbled Postcards

‘What a lot we lost when we stopped writing letters. You can’t reread a phone call’ ~ Liz Carpenter.

I received my first Smile across the Miles on Tuesday.

An absolutely gorgeous statue bust of Queen Nefertiti of Egypt which demonstrates the ornateness of Egyptian statues and how precisely the Ancient Egyptians had grasped facial proportions. What a great way to start of my Postcrossing collection.

You’d be forgiven for thinking this postcard had started its journey to Canada from the Valley of Kings. But this little gem was sent by a lady with lovely handwriting from Western Germany who was lucky enough to visit the Egyptian Museum of Berlin.

Now my first ever postcard reminded me of my first ever penpal, a girl called Fredi Betsch (if I remember right) from Germany also, who I initially got to help me improve my German for school and over the space of a year we slowly lost contact. The gaps between our letters got wider and somehow become infinite. Maybe if social networking had been as prolific then as it is now we’d have kept in touch.

The postcard also reminded me of primary school when we learned about Ancient Egypt the fun way. Through hieroglyphics with an artsy twist. We would take a piece of card, create multiple thick crayon bands of sunset shades and then paint over the whole thing with black paint. After drying, we would take the sharp edge of a pair of scissors (would children be able to do this these days?) and then chip away at the black paint making hieroglyphic symbols. So you ending up seeing the sunset bands of colour poking through, revealing your phrases and words.

Shame there wasn’t such creative and fun ways to learn about the tourist industry of Cairo in Year 7 Geography.

Stamps...that you can scratch and sniff

I’ve been trying to get some of my friends involved who miss the thrill of having something handwritten slip out among the bills and generic junk. It’s definitely got me checking my mailbox on a daily basis after conquering the scourge of junk mail, which will literally take over your mailbox if you don’t empty it every few days. I guess the huge amount of eateries competing for your attention might have a little something to do with sheer volume of it all. I don’t think you can walk a few blocks without seeing a café, bar or restaurant trying to tempt you in.  A very happy smiley stickie note declaring ‘NO JUNK MAIL’ seems to have done the trick, meaning I don’t need to fight my way through the unwelcome to get to the good stuff.

(Edited: 18/04/10)

Sent:

Received: Germany, UK.        Direct swaps in transit: Lithuania, Norway, Austria.

I will post any extraordinary or interesting postcards I receive and any that trigger a thought. I recommend Postcrossing to anyone, and I guess 4 million postcards sent across the world can’t be far wrong.

10 Comments

Filed under Life

10 responses to “Scribbled Postcards

  1. Silje

    I am writing your postcard from Norway now, it will be posted tomorrow on my way to university. I really like your blog, will probably add it to my reader 🙂

    Looking forward to receiving the card from you 🙂

    • Let me know when you get it! It’s been traveling for quite awhile now, I’m sure its journeyed safe and will be with you very soon. Not sure if the impact of the volcanic ash would have had any effect on the length of its travels.

      Mange takk!! 😀

  2. hey Nikki! i found your blog through SuAnn’s and your blog is really cool. a freidn of mine recommended postcrossing too and i just sent out my first 5! and im waiting for mine to arrive from random stranger around the world.

    • Thank you so much for the compliment Zeek 😀 Trying not to get writer’s block and keep spewing out blog-worthy content.

      SuAnn’s blog is quite incredible – that girl certainly has a way with words. I enjoyed walking through your blog, love the travel related contents – marvelous, and everything in between.

      Glad to hear someone else has got on the Postcrossing train, I sent a card off to Czech Republic, Thailand and Italy the other day. Hope you receive some mail goodies soon.

  3. Hey!

    Thanks for commenting on my blog! I thought that I’d return the favor. 🙂 I love your post about the postcards. I have a collection of postcards, both from places I’ve been and from people that have sent me some. I have about 100 or so, but I dont keep count, lol. I have a penpal in Finland. I met her on a penpal website, and we’ve been emailing and sending each other things in the mail for about two years now. She’s one of my best friends, lol. I love communicating with people in different countries and learning new cultures. International music is one of my favorite kinds of music to listen to, (I have songs from India, Ireland, and Spanish countries.) Its funny to see how different cultures can be across the pond. I had signed up at PostCrossing, but never actually sent any postcards yet, lol. I should start soon, now that I think about it.
    Anyways, great blog, and a very nice post! I’ll be back again soon! You can contact me through my blog if you need anything. Thanks again!

    —TheBlueMorpho

    • That’s quite a collection! I have no idea how to organise mine yet and display them. Maybe have a postcard box?

      I would love a lasting penpal, you’re very lucky indeed. I rejoined Interpals.net after a long absence but most people seem to be interested in e-pals as opposed to good ol’ snailmail and I guess I’m picky as I want someone who I can write with for a long time. I found a future penpal in my Postcrossing friend Silje, so happy about that!

      It’s great being introduced to new things you wouldn’t otherwise hear about if you kept looking within your own country.

  4. Julie

    want a direct postcard swap from me?

  5. Oh you’re tracking the travel time of your postcards – I love it! I’m writing letters to a different person each day of 2010 – and travel time fascinates me.

    • I’ll definitely do an update as I have more postcards to showcase now, it’s a joy getting them in my mail box. Your site is such a great idea, a salute to letter writing, I’m sure everyone who receives one of your letters is really appreciative of the gesture.

Leave a Reply

