Wardrobes of Literature

‘Somehow reading a book never feels like sitting still’ ~ Jef Mallett

The libraries at Sheffield University buzzed with activity – students researching for assignments, pulling all-nighters in a desperate bid to meet end of semester deadlines and raiding old journals in the eerie labyrinth-like stacks. I spent most of my final year nerdin’ it up there whilst developing a caffeine addiction. It became a bit of a social hub, even as far as pyjama parties for late night study sessions. The main library in the city centre felt near deserted. A shell with bookshelves and no pulse.

Calgary City Library is very much alive. People absorbed in literature and enjoying the social aspect. In fact I’ve had some interesting passing conversations in the library.

My trip to the library, lets be pensive and call this aisle a 'corridor of knowledge'.

I finally sorted out a library card. With a 99 loan limit, I asked the library assistant where I could park my truck. She laughed, but I wasn’t joking – I love books. I love possessing a bundle of knowledge at my fingertips or having realms of material to flex my imagination with. My ‘books to read in this lifetime’ list is pretty inexhaustible, too many interests and recommendations.  This quote says it well.

‘The library connects us with the insight and knowledge, painfully extracted from Nature, of the greatest minds that ever were, with the best teachers, drawn from the entire planet and from all our history, to instruct us without tiring, and to inspire us to make our own contribution to the collective knowledge of the human species.  I think the health of our civilization, the depth of our awareness about the underpinnings of our culture and our concern for the future can all be tested by how well we support our libraries’. ~ Carl Sagan.

Nikki’s reading list

Always with the whipped cream.

I restrained my inner eager beaver and settled on 3 books.

Mastering Norwegian – I’ve been slacking too much on my language learning and I need to stop my brain turning to mush. Any one else get that feeling when they haven’t been stretching their brain? I really feel like my mind is becoming mental sushi. At college I was constantly learning, I don’t miss the pressure or exams, but I miss knowing new stuff. Fellow blogger Sophie will be proud of my choice!

IVF: The A.R.T. to making Babies –  Most of the IVF books I’ve found have been more focused on the patient’s perspective. Empathy is a big part of interacting with patients but this is a more medical focused book. Theory and concepts I will actually use in the real world. Sense a hopefully there too. Oh, and ART = assisted reproductive technologies, doctors attempting nerd funnies there.

The Handy Science Answer Book – Because you can never know enough useless facts and pointless trivia and they make me a lethal weapon in quizzes.

I’m always interested in other people’s reading lists and goals, so if you’re engrossed in a novel or there’s a book that has inspired you or you think I’d enjoy then feel free to contribute ideas for my bookshelves.

5 Comments

Filed under Arts & Culture, Bibliothèque, Calgary, Life

5 responses to “Wardrobes of Literature

  1. SunshineGirl

    You have just gotten me excited about another aspect of going to england this summer: access to a new library that I have never set foot in! Cant wait to browse and pick up some interesting books, and ofcourse reading them.

    • You must be so excited about Durham! Make sure you find time to travel down to York and see the beautiful cathedral there. Slice of English history for you 🙂

  2. ikkenorskgirl

    I am well impressed by quite a few things:

    1) As you rightly said, learning Norwegian, elsker “geekytuden” din 🙂
    2) The fact that you stepped foot in a library without having to. I find them scary places with all the knowledge that my brain could never hope to soak up.
    3) Seriously, 99 books?!
    4) How jealous I am of that yummylooking study drink!
    5) How your uni library was buzzing with students – at Portsmouth uni it only got like that about 2 weeks before any big exam period. And the caffeine buzz was mixed with an abundance of stress.

    I’m not a big bookworm, must say, so I’d love to recommend you something, but my cultured side is rather lacking. However, I do hope you find more gems (especially in the IVF section) to feed your luciously inquisitive mind.

    Enjoy!

  3. Only 99? 🙂 You are a girl after my own heart. And I ADORE the term “wardrobes of literature”. I wish I could just move into a library 🙂

  4. As someone who works in a library and is a future librarian, I really, really like this post. That picture of the stacks at your library makes my heart bounce. I’d suggest something for your shelf, but I’m only good at recommending kids’ books and young adult fiction 😛

Leave a Reply

