Coffee Shops and Scorchers

‘Joy in the the task of coffee, joy accompanied me as I walked’ ~ Anais Nin.

The sun sits high in the sky, a blazing inferno. Winking at me as it passes in and out of the clouds. Sunbeams piercing through the luminous wisps beating down heavily on the pavement. Did someone crank up the thermostat here? It’s 25°C outside today with a string of scorchers preceding it and more expected. The perfect place to seek shade and escape the dry heat, the coffee shop.

Coffee shops were always a great place to study. I’d spread my textbooks out across the table, monopolising every bit of space. The hustle and bustle, catching fragments of others conversations and the sense of movement around me kept me alert almost as much as the caffeine. There was always the chance to bump into a familiar face, a pleasant distraction and we’d swap some gossip and complain about our impending quarter life crises and how we wished life was simpler. Wonder where our Fresher’s day had gone and why reading lists look nightmarish. Deny the existence of the real world outside being a student.

Today I’m in a coffee shop on 8th Avenue. The main pull is the guilt-free wi-fi, I can sit here for a couple of hours after ordering a frappe and a bagel and not feel like I’ve out stayed my welcome. People acknowledge each other. One guy asked me if I was doing my homework (which reminds me, last week when I told someone I had graduated, his reply was – ‘High school?’. Pfft.) and another commented on my deadly tripwire extension cord for the laptop power supply which I agreed was a death trap and slightly overkill.

I’ve never posted from a coffee shop before. Isn’t this prime blogger territory? Can I be in part of the cool blogging crowd now?

Gazing around I speculate at what each writer was working on. Maybe they are writing an epic novel, please not a Twilight clone. Maybe a poet with a restless soul pouring out romance, trying to be a modern-day Keats. The social networking addicts who I assume are Facebook stalking. The Warcraft gamers completely absorbed in their fantasy world. Or a small time blogger like me – sitting, observing, writing a little here and there. Mostly observing.

I just overheard some prize backstabbing from two women whose work colleague was now out of earshot. From what I gathered the three were working on a spot of event planning but when one left it had switched to MEOW mode. ‘She’s so difficult to work with’, ‘X creates issues that shouldn’t even be issues’ and my favorite ‘next time I’ll say, don’t give me bullshit *dramatic pause*. End of story’. Retract your claws ladies and if you can’t say anything nice….

In other news:

I checked out the University of Calgary job site and to my surprise there were three laboratory assistant jobs that didn’t need years of experience or certification I had never heard of. What the? This never happens. The application deadline is 21st so I will send a CV off tomorrow. They’re only temporary jobs but they would nicely fill a lab experience gap till I can apply to clinical embryology training and mean I finally have something after my University education to add to my resume instead of my Diploma in Life and Adapting To A New Country (Hons) with an MA in Work Permit Patience .


11 Comments

Filed under Calgary, Canada, Career, Life

11 responses to “Coffee Shops and Scorchers

  1. Eric

    did you take the photo yourself?

    • Hey Eric!

      Isn’t it pretty? I fell in love with the little speckles of light glowing.

      Many of the photos on my blog are taken by me in fact sometimes I go out of my way to take photos of a particular topic I’m writing about if I find nothing that I think people would enjoy and that fit the theme/mood/feelings of the post.

      If you click on the photo it will take you to the original source, in this case someone’s Tumblr. Though I’m not sure it is their original work but I couldn’t trace it back any further which is a shame. Tumblr is a site I adore :). I just fixed the link as it needed a http:// so was directing people to an unknown page.

      Enjoy and best wishes x

      • Eric

        do you mean if I can’t see the link, it is your picture like the four pieces that appeared on Life Pictorial?

      • Yeps those are all mine. As are the pictures in my header for CitySoliloquy. All my creative property I guess you could say 🙂 If they are unclickable, unlinked or take you to an enlarged version of the photo with CitySoliloquy in the URL, they are mine. I tend to use low resolution pictures to stop them being stolen. I always link back to the original source or creator if it isn’t mine as you should give credit where credit is due. If I cannot find the original source/creator I will always state this in the post, for example with the photo of a Norwegian landscape in one of my earlier posts.

  2. I secretly LOVE overhearing personal dramas like that. Of course, I’ve been a victim of eavesdropping myself so I suppose I got what was coming to me, karma-wise. Also, three cheers for the local coffee shop; one of the small pleasures I’m looking forward to the most when I start school again is hunkering down for paper-writing at a table in my local cafe.

    Good luck on the jobs, by the way! I’ll keep my fingers crossed for you.

    • Oh you would have loved it! Also had a couple of girls nattering next to me about how unattractive guys who fall too fast in love are, one of the duo kept overusing the phrases ‘d’ya know what I mean?’ and ‘don’t get me wrong’. I really wanted to tell her that she might want to work on her vocabulary 😛

      The little coffee shop is Kawa, Polish for coffee and owned by a couple of the very same nationality. So much nicer to go local instead of settling for Starbucks I agree! \o/

      Thankies for the luck. I read one of the job descriptions more closely yesterday, it involved electroejaculation of bull cows o.O Always read the small print huh 😛

  3. It’s things like coffee shop blogging and overhearing the intricacies of the outside world that make me wish I had a laptop 🙂 Good luck on the jobs!!

    • Thanks!!! One can only try 😀
      I definitely recommend the coffee shop blogging experience, perhaps people thought I was a big time important writer!:D Can only dream! I would love one of those neat little Macs as mines rather on the big side. Not very elegant!

  4. unabridgedgirl

    “…please not a Twilight clone.”

    This alone? Makes you one of my favorite people. Ever.

  5. zeldagirl

    Yes, I’m sooo against twilight! I’m glad we can be friends like that 🙂

  6. Han

    Hey, nice blog. You have very gripping photography skills. One of my blog-hopping habits is to stumble upon sites with unique photos 🙂 Keep up your interesting writings too.

Leave a Reply

