Where Time Ran Away

‘Success is simple. Do what’s right, the right way, at the right time’ ~ Arnold H. Glasgow

This week I feel like time has snowballed out of control. Gathering momentum when I wasn’t looking and before I knew it the weekend was here. I had intended to blog post on Wednesday, catch up with everything. Wednesday came and went. I had a To-Do list which has remained mostly untouched, so many intentions and so little action. Time only flies like this when a) I’m dreading something b) I have an imminent deadline and c) I’m exceptionally busy.

By the time Thursday came round I realise this time it is a definite (b). I still haven’t written a persuasive ‘hire me’/’sell myself’ covering letter for my job opportunity discoveries, due FRIDAY! Maybe it made me nervous to have to write something that had so much riding on it that it was easier to keep putting it off. When I was in University, I told myself I wouldn’t search for a job when I graduated, I was on the look out for a career or an opportunity that would help me in my search for the elusive and mysterious career. Any graduate knows this isn’t how it works exactly and you end up having to let go of this notion and grasp reality.

Back to the job applications, these are the first positions I’ve seen where I can see myself enjoying the job, making some contacts and learning something useful along the way. Not something I’d class as ‘just putting up with to get by’. It’s a lab assistant position in the field of gastrointestinal physiology (mouthful much?) with focus on gastric bypasses so I researched into the topic so I could show understanding of the research on my covering letter and then began to weave some paragraphs on my skills and how they fit the requirements for the job. After proof reading my letter closely in fear that a spelling error might have slipped through spellchecker, I attached my CV and sent them along their way. Begin: hope.

On Monday I left answer machine messages at the IVF clinic. I still haven’t heard a peep from them. It’s getting to the point where I want to keep reminding them I’m here but not become a nuisance. Persistence is key but is there a limit? I did specify in the message to contact me if there had been any updates, but maybe there hasn’t been any. I think I made a good impression in our first conversation – confident and eager. I want this really badly but I hate being kept hanging and wondering what the etiquette is in this situation.

I ended up leaving two messages as I thought I sounded too nervous in the first one. So I wrote down exactly what I wanted to say and calmed myself and left a second one in a more calm manner, apologising for leaving multiple messages and this time adding some extra details. It felt so foreign to get nervous over leaving a message, when I worked for Sheffield Uni undergrad admissions leaving messages was part of my job and I did it without a second thought. There’s no pressure to leave the perfect message on a friend’s machine. I guess it’s because the IVF clinic message really matters and it has to leave a good impression, no exception.

This weekend…

Introduced to Jones Orange Cream Soda. Coolest thing – you can submit your photos to the company and they print them on the label. Every label is unique. I thought being in Canada and having a chilled grizzly on my bottle was rather fitting. So sharing my first bear sighting in Canuck land!

15 Comments

Filed under Building my CV, Calgary, Career, Graduate, Life, Life Lessons, Personal Development

15 responses to “Where Time Ran Away

  1. Jones soda! That reminds me of high school. I always loved looking at the pictures but never sent one in myself.

    I wish you the best of luck in finding a job that you like. I still have a while before graduating and I’m already nervous for it! It sounds like you are taking all the necessary steps though. Good for you 🙂

    • ❤ Thank you, thank you! I often wonder how many people end up in jobs they really like doing or just putting up with something that pays.

      My advice is start thinking early. Our career service encouraged that but even with their help I only really realised what I really wanted to do in the final year. Can't hurry important decisions like that though.

      Take care and good luck! x

  2. Oh, I HATE leaving voice mails. I am utterly composed and a very good communicator in real life, but once I hear that “beeeeep” I lose it. I’ve had to call in person and apologize for my rambling, incoherent messages more than once.

  3. Oops! Accidentally submitted the comment too soon — it sounds like you’re being just the right amount of persistent; I hope that helps alleviate some of your stress. I hope this works out for you!

    • Thanks Melissa 😀 Your comments made me feel better x100.

      I’m glad I’m not the only one who has voicemail message meltdown. I always feel really silly writing out what I want to say but it seems to work and keeps me focused on the reason I called.

      This whole charade has made me wonder the lengths people go to get their dream jobs and how many will actually make it! And if they do, how long it takes.

  4. zeldagirl

    Ha! I really like Jones soda. A bunch of friends and I took a picture of ourselves holding up the bottles and submitted it. . . supposedly. I really don’t know if the friend who took it actually sent it in. It was still funny!

    Good luck with getting everything done! I hope u find ur career

  5. unabridgedgirl

    Ahhhh! I can see how you feel nervous. The anticipation would make me want to pull out my hair. (And I’ve been nervous to leave phone messages before, too.) Obviously, you’re a smart cookie, and whatever happens, I know things are going to work out for you. You’ll find success.

    PS Jones Soda is awesome!

    • Thanks sweetheart 🙂 Your comment made me smile and added that extra little bit of hope that will most definitely help me persevere.

      I will toast with a Jones Soda when destination: success is reached 😀

  6. Han

    I remember my time when I was looking for the ‘dream’ job. Some disappointments here and there but a handful of hopeful stories that got me to where I am today.

    Here’s my 2 cents of worth: in whatever we do in life, we must learn to accept finite disappointments but never lose infinite hope.

    • That is really inspiring and gives me hope. I can put up with finite disappointments because of that hope.

      Thanks so much for taking the time to drop by and leave words of wisdom. Many thanks.

  7. I really hate leaving voicemail messages too. I tend to ramble on and then you can’t take it back so you keep rambling to try and apologise for taking up so much time with this message and it just ends badly. LOL anyone? Just me? 🙂

    I wish you all the best of luck with the job! And persistence shows you’re really interested – I think it’s a good thing 🙂 I’ll keep my fingers crossed!

    • I want to invent a voicemail machine I can edit! Then I could erase out the ummm, nervous laughter and rambling 😀 We’re onto something here!!

      Crossed fingers are always appreciated. Thank you ❤

  8. Julie

    I haven’t had Jones soda in so long!

    Good luck on your job hunt! But I am glad that you are following up on the places you apply to. I’d rather a “no” than have “no answer” at all because I just don’t like waiting. I remembered how time consuming job hunting could be too. Writing and drafting the CV and cover letter–you can’t write too much because it usually takes a few seconds for the HR person to reject or accept your resume so make sure you pick and spell all the right words.

    • I’m starting to think they like to see how much running you’ll do for a job and all the evil waiting is a trick to see how interested the applicants really are!!

      I find I can only job hunt for a few hours before I get totally burnt out, and a little demoralised. But hanging on in there 😀

      I’m being so careful on my spelling, I proof read everything a crazy number of times before I submit it. I remember when I first wrote my CV it was 4 pages long and it was painstaking it condense it to just under 2 pages but I managed it.

Leave a Reply

